Something Wonderful: Rodgers and Hammerstein Songbook

Saturday, August 10, 7:30 p.m.
Hanesbrands Theatre
$27 General Admission/$10 Ages 6-18


The concert will have highlights from some of Rodgers and Hammerstein’s beloved Broadway musicals.  Martha Bassett’s mesmerizing vocals, Federico Pivetta’s piano, Matt Kendrick’s bass, John Wilson’s drums Jacqui Carrasco’s violin, and Ken Wilmot’s trumpet create a captivating ensemble, breathing new life into timeless jazz classics. Martha’s evocative delivery pays homage to the golden era while the quintet’s seasoned musicians provide a sophisticated backdrop.


Selections include:

From Oklahoma: “Oh What a Beautiful Mornin,”  “The Surrey with the Fringe on Top,” and “People Will Say We’re in Love”

From State Fair: “It Might as Well Be Spring”

From The Sound of Music: “The Sound of Music”

From The King and I: “Shall We Dance?”  “Getting to Know You,”  “Hello Young Lovers,” and “Something Wonderful”

From South Pacific: “Some Enchanted Evening”